Non classé, nonsense, prose

We must bring our own light to the darkness.

“Are you happy ? It’s a simple question.”

Is it such a simple question ?
How do you define being happy exactly ? Is it a mood ? Is it an emotion ? Is it a state ?
Some would say it is just a matter of feeling good, in a long term perspective. Having a good job, a family, friends; all that is usually what we hear when we hear happy. Is it everything ? I can’t answer that. But I do know there are a lot of people pretending. There are a lot of people trying. There are a lot of people trying hard.
In this nonsensical life of mine I have often met some nice people who, sadly, have been spending a good chunk of their lives in that predicament : forced to do things they did not want to, feeling obliged to stay with people they did not really have feelings for in the first place, living in places they hated; all of this is on the simple account that “in life, you can’t always get what you want.” I really wonder if that old chestnut is true. I deeply hope it’s not. I tend to think of myself as a “whatever-makes-you-happy” type of guy, and to be honest I sometimes wonder if I am not being too selfish. I feel that at times, I have to do things “for me”, but what does that mean really? Could it be that any other thing that I do is not for me ? I don’t think so. I don’t feel so. I remember someone said to me once, that happiness is about making other people happy. I didn’t give too much thought to this at that time, but years later I find some interest in it. It could probably work, were all the people to live by such a code; otherwise, who would care about you, right ? There seems to be something selfishy about happiness, almost as if the concept had taken root in both loneliness and social life. What an odd couple. Another contradiction; such a human concept. Happiness. We should probably stop conceptualizing things, it seems that we are confusing our own selves most of the time. I wonder how a cat would reflect on happiness. “Oh I can do nothing all day, eat, sleep, lick my balls and repeat.” Nah, it looks to me that happiness is an idealized concept. Too much actually. And it puts so much pressure on us, there is so much longing for it, for that newest frontier, that we eventually all buckle and give up. There isn’t just one big Happiness, like a goal you can aim towards, just open your eyes and you’ll see what I mean.

Standard

Leave a Reply

