Non classé, nonsense, thoughts

Minor threat, huge impact ?

The other day I found myself going to a gig. Not that it was planned or anything, a friend of mine just showed up with the tickets and out we went. I don’t know if there are any punkheads around, but the main bands playing were Terror and Expire, and from what I know they have quite the reputation on the punk scene. Their sets were alright, typical hardcore punk style which I hadn’t seen live in a while – I had forgotten how weird all of this is. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I like me some hardcore. I just never understand some guys’ need to literally swim in the middle of the crowd or to throw punches. Let’s say I appreciate the music and the ideas in a more peaceful way. But that’s beside my point really. You see that gig made me realise that at that point, punk rock had always been part of my life, and the weird thing is that I can trace back everything that I like to it.
I always use Bukowski when I talk about this. Beside loving his writing style, I can’t help to admire the guy for his tenacity. He did start out with nothing, paid (or drank) his dues, and made it. He wasn’t against establishment per se, but he was trying to fight in his own way. Like Pound and some others before him, he wanted to change the world of poetry; to make it broader, for everyone to grasp. To me, there’s a lot of punk rock in that. And that’s something I have always kept with me; change.
I often wonder what it would be like, were punk rock to turn mainstream. A whole bunch of people have reflected on that, advancing the idea that when a subculture goes mainstream, it instantaneously loses what made it stand appart from the rest. I don’t necessarily disagree, but I’m curious. Would punk rock going mainstream mean that it would touch more souls ?  Would it make people angry ? Should they be angry ? I’d like to see that little spark go off, and see what happens. But don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to contemplate the world while it burns. It’s just that, some change would be nice, you know ?

Standard

Leave a Reply

